Now Accepting Submissions for the 2017 Architecture & Design Awards

Senior Housing News is excited to announce the official start of the 2017 SHN Architecture & Design Awards, exclusively sponsored by Kwalu. Professionals and students from around the world can now submit their projects at

Every year, more than 80 organizations and students enter their communities for their unique approaches to senior living design. The SHN Architecture & Design Awards recognize cutting-edge design, excellence and innovation in senior living.

The SHN Awards brings out the best new senior housing projects from around the US and the world,” said George Yedinak, co-founder and executive vice president of Aging Media. “We are thrilled to expand our student program to help draw in the next generation of architects and designers that will help shape senior living in the next 30 years.”


Categories for the 2017 SHN Awards include:

  • Independent Living
  • Assisted Living
  • Skilled Nursing/Post Acute Care
  • Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC)
  • Renovation/Repositioning
  • Stand Alone Memory Care
  • Affordable Housing
  • Student Exhibition — Interior Design Challenge
  • Student Exhibition — Independent Living Design
  • International (Non – U.S. Based)

Interested in participating? Please visit for more information, including due dates, costs, categories, last year’s winners and more.