SHN Awards Corner: AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards; MetLife Foundation Awards

1. AHCA Announces Recipients of 2012 National Quality Award Program

The American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) recently announced the recipients of the 2012 National Quality Award program. A total of 458 skilled nursing or assisted living facilities from across the country earned a Bronze, Silver or Gold from the three-tiered award program which commends those facilities that focus on improving the quality of care for the individuals they serve.

In 2012, 404 facilities earned Bronze and 52 earned Silver. Only two facilities were recipients of the program’s highest honor: the Gold award. Golden LivingCenter – Continental Manor in Abbotsford, Wisc. and Genesis HealthCare’s Grand Islander Center in Middletown, R.I. join the Gold platform with only 11 other facilities that have earned the award since the program began.


View the full list of award recipients

2. 11 Golden LivingCenters Get AHCA/NCAL Awards for Quality Care

Eleven Golden LivingCenters have been selected by the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) as recipients of the Silver Achievement in Quality and Bronze Commitment to Quality Awards this year.


To be selected by AHCA/NCAL as a Bronze Commitment to Quality Award recipient, a skilled nursing facility must demonstrate an organization-wide commitment to a patient-centered mission, define its principal customers and their expectations, and indicate how it is striving to meet their needs and improve processes.

Silver Achievement in Quality Award recipients must demonstrate a level of achievement in quality through good performance outcomes and visionary leadership. The recipient must also demonstrate a focus on the future, achieve resident-focused excellence, manage by innovation, and deliver results that create value. To be eligible for the more rigorous Silver designation, nursing homes must have previously earned the AHCA/NCAL Bronze Commitment to Quality Award.

3. AHCA Gives Champion of Quality Award to Barbara Baylis

The American Health Care Association (AHCA) recently announced Barbara Baylis as the 2012 recipient of the prestigious Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award for her dedication to improving quality in long-term and post-acute care.

AHCA presents the award to an individual or organization that has made a significant national contribution to advancing quality performance in the long term care
field. Recipients must consistently advocate for quality approaches, while demonstrating the ability to educate and advocate for a systems approach to quality improvement. Recipients also display leadership in the development, promotion, and implementation of quality improvement initiatives that improve the quality of care and quality of life for
individuals in need of long term care.

Baylis has more than 20 years of experience in organizing and strengthening clinical operations in long-term care facilities and was an early contributor to the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award program as an Examiner and education. 

4. Aegis Living Named as Finalist in Washington’s Best Workplaces Competition

The Puget Sound Business Journal recently named Aegis Living, an assisted living and memory care provider, as a finalist for its Washington’s Best Workplaces competition. More than 300 businesses had been nominated, and employees of nominated companies had to complete surveys rating their workplaces in four categories: employee benefit offerings, leadership, culture, and work/life balance philosophies.

Out of those nominated, 85 made the grade as finalists, including Aegis. 

“This honor is thrilling, and to be recognized by our employees means so much,” said Dwayne Clark, founder and CEO of Aegis Living.  “It reconfirms our focus on hiring and retaining the finest staff and our ‘Employee First’ culture that we value so much. It’s also a testament to the hard work and compassion our employees bring to our communities and the way ‘We Make Life Better’ every day for our residents and their families.”

5. MetLife Foundation Awards Four Affordable Senior Housing Organizations

MetLife Foundation recently announced the 2012 winners for Excellence in Affordable Housing:

  • Menorah Housing, Long Beach Senior Housing in Long Beach, Calif.
  • Metro West Housing Solutions, Residences at Creekside, in Lakewood, Colo.
  • National Church Residences, Hopeton Village, in Chillicothe, Ohio
  • Rogerson Communities, Farnsworth House, in Jamaica Plain, Mass.

The awards are offered in partnership with Enterprise; each winner will receive a $50,000 unrestricted grant. The awards are for “exceptional green, senior housing properties with services.”

Companies featured in this article:

, , , ,